Murder in the Fictional Degree

I am considering offing one of my favorite characters. And I’m not just going to murder him. I’m actually considering wiping him right out of existence, erasing him from the story which gives him life. You, dear reader, will never even know he existed. The problem with my wonderful, cynical, character is I just don’t know if he’s necessary. He’s fun. He’s entertaining, but I’m just not sure he moves the story along. That, and I have recently been advised to keep my character list from growing out of control, which I have to admit, is a continuing threat.

The choice to kill him is not final, and it’s causing an epic dilemma between the different sides of my brain. What do you think? Have you ever wiped out a character you loved? How did you deal with the empty place on paper and in your heart? Any regrets?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

